Don’t Tread On Me – NaPoWriMo #14

A bluesy song for day fourteen.
___________________________________
Don’t tread on me (don’t tread on me),
Don’t tread on me (don’t tread on me),
If you could only see just what it do to me,
Please darling don’t tread on me.

It might be too late
To avoid this fate,
And you can hardly wait, I only irritate,
Please darling don’t tread on me.

And though our time has come,
You’re still the only one,
Although I’m on the curb, and mostly ignored
Please darling don’t you tread on me.

The hurt’s within your smile,
How it still beguiles,
You know it’s got me riled still from a hundred miles,
Please darling don’t tread on me.

Don’t tread on me (don’t tread on me),
Don’t tread on me (don’t tread on me),
If you could only see just what it do to me,
Please darling don’t tread on me.

Rent, spent where love had all once went,
Staring at the end and all that it portends,
No longer can pretend, through with noble acting,
Hopeful totalled, kind words all redacted
Notable, niceties, though they’re rather dicey,
Cream atop the icing, done with all enticings,
Dividing, derision, working through a schism,
The inside of a break-up like the inside of a prism,
Within might you find the colors you’d been seeking,
So long as you stay focused and it don’t seem all too bleakly,
Don’t focus on the weekly, stay upon today,
The sun breaks through slowly and soon you’ll feel the rays,
The grey will clear the sky so long as you keep upbeat,
Head held high, not staring at your feet,
Don’t give in to defeat, lonely ain’t decree,
Your heart’s not broken, it’s only been set free.

Don’t tread on me (don’t tread on me),
Don’t tread on me (don’t tread on me),
If you could only see just what it do to me,
Please darling don’t tread on me.

Leave a Reply

