Slammed

Among other things, I am a slam poet – a breed of slam poet that is also an actor, which lends a lot of theatricality to my work. It had occurred to me in the past that there is a great opportunity to be strove to through combining theater and performance poetry: this is my first attempt at combining the two.

Slammed follows the story of a couple, sort of backwards. It starts at the end of the relationship, works its way back to the beginning, and then takes a sort of over-arcing look at the relationship. The play also features a blank stage, with the poets/actors…performers, painting the stage and scenes with their words.

I think this might be a play, or at least a concept, that I will draw to again. I believe there’s great potential in the idea – but proper execution might take a couple of swings. Regardless – cheers!

One response to “Slammed

  1. Pingback: God Calling | An Oral Carload

Leave a Reply

