Dear Jill

Dear Jill,

You were serenity and defiance wrapped in a quilt of tattoos and tenacity,
Calamity was your calling card and I should have known better but I couldn’t help it,
you kissed strangers and left me wanting,
even more so in your engagement that you would eventually fulfill,
but you let me bare your breasts and in turn I bared my scars to you.

We ate our insecurities with our late-night breakfast and never made it to dessert,
you were much too beguiling for banana cream pie,
incandescent only in the candlelight that let me keep on burning for you;
we took a left at Albuquerque and arrived in Antarctica,
late night texts turned from arbitration to arbitrary.

I became an artifact of your once-wily ways now lost to time and matrimony,
A photo long deleted on a phone from two lives ago;
I never got my fairy tale,
Just grim reality,
Where hearts are broken every day,
And then some day you meet the grave.

Leave a Reply

